February 12, 2008

Senate approves Bush's secret spy program

I am embarrassed to be represented by two U. S. Senators who today demonstrated a total disregard for the U. S. Constitution:

The Senate overwhelming voted Tuesday evening to legalize President Bush's warrantless wiretapping program and grant amnesty to the phone companies that helped out with the domestic spying.

Democrats voting for the bill:

Evan Bayh (D-IN), Tom Carper (D-DE), Robert Casey (D-PA), Kent Conrad (D-ND), Daniel Inouye (D-HI), Mary Landrieu (D-LA) Joe Lieberman (ID-CT), Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Ben Nelson (D-NE), Mark Pryor (D-AR), Jay Rockefeller (D-WV), Ken Salazar (D-CO), Jim Webb (D-VA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

All Republican senators, including John McCain and Mel Martinez (FL) voted for the bill, except for Lindsey Graham (SC) who did not vote.

No comments: